Member Login

Contact Us



2017 Spring newsletter

Check out the newsletter! Our thanks to the Marketing Committee and other leaders and volunteers for the content. And happy 21st birthday to Tenn-Share.

Welcome to the new Board members

Tenn-Share gleefully welcomes these new Board members, who will serve from January 2017 - December 2018. Remember, they are your representatives to tell Tenn-Share what your library needs or wants related to resource sharing. 1.) Secretary: Heidi Busch, University of Tennessee–Martin
2.) Academic Library Rep, East TN: Lori Warren, Chattanooga State Community College
3.) Public Library Rep, East TN: April White, Knox County Public Library
4.) Public Library Rep, Middle TN: Jaclyn Anderson, Chattanooga Public Library
5.) School Library Rep, East TN: Carla Whiles, Harold McCormick Elementary School, Elizabethton
6.) School Library Rep, Middle TN: Joyce Claassen, Hillsboro High School, Nashville

Tabitha Wakefield is 2016 TEL Trainer of the Year

During the 2016 Tenn-Share Fall Conference welcome, Erin Loree presented the 2016 TEL Trainer of Year Award to Tabitha Wakefield. Tabitha is the librarian at Macon County Junior High School and her combined TEL training sessions reached more than 1,000 attendees this year. Tabitha began her career in the classroom teaching fifth grade for five years before getting her librarian endorsement. She was an elementary school librarian for three years and is now in her 11th year as a middle school librarian. Tabitha does extensive TEL training with her students and takes a graduated approach to her teaching. She starts by giving her sixth graders a general introduction to TEL and an in-depth lesson on World Book. Seventh graders get a detailed look at Research in Context and a mini-lesson on Books & Authors. Finally in the eighth grade, students try out Powerspeak Languages and explore the Learning Express Career Center. By the time they leave middle school, Tabitha's students have had tremendous exposure to TEL resources.

Tenn-Share Board Nominations

Call for Tenn-Share Board Nominations
Tenn-Share is seeking nominations to fill six upcoming vacancies on its Board of Directors. The Tenn-Share Board is an active governing board, not just an advisory board, and meets three times a year. Terms of office are two years, and will run from January 1, 2017, through December 31, 2018. Nominations may be submitted online anytime now through November 18.
We need to fill the Board Secretary position, as well as public, academic, and school libraries representatives. We try to maintain a geographic balance of representation across the three grand divisions of Tennessee; however, nominations for any good candidates are welcome and will be given due consideration.
Positions to be filled include:
·         Board Secretary
·         Academic Library Representative from East Tennessee
·         Public Library Representative from East Tennessee
·         Public Library Representative from Middle Tennessee
·         School Library Representative from East Tennessee
·         School Library Representative from Middle Tennessee
Are you interested in serving? Nominate yourself! Self-nominations are welcome and encouraged. If you have someone else in mind, be sure to get that person's agreement before submitting your nomination. You may submit nominations for more than one position. Remember, the deadline to make nominations is November 18. Why wait? Send us a name or two now!

Submitted by Joe Weber 
Chair, Tenn-Share Nominating Committee

Submit a Proposal for Fall Conference 2016

The Tenn-Share Fall Conference Planning Committee invites proposals for the Friday, September 30, 2016, Fall Conference to be held at the Nashville Public Library's Conference Center. Fall Conference is an opportunity for librarians to present and raise discussions around the topic of:

Innovation and Inspiration: Bringing the best to your work and your library.


DataFest-School Library Collection Fair-Fall Conference 2016

DataFest and School Library Collection Fair, Thursday, September 29
Fall Conference, Friday, September 30

Which one is for you?
 All of them!
  • DataFest - Presentations from vendors providing products to each library type (free)
  • School Library Collection Fair - K-12 library book vendors (free)
  • Fall Conference - Librarian presentations in each library type, panels, discussions, and a keynote. ($30)
Nashville Public Library Conference Center. Breakfast and lunch provided.

Membership Renewal Instructions

The Tenn-Share membership cycle is July through June. We have posted instructions for renewing membership using the website. Please contact us if you have any trouble.

Welcome to the new Tenn-Share Board members

Tenn-Share welcomes the following librarians to the Board of Directors.  These new Board members will serve from January 2016 through December 2017, with President Leah Allison, Director of Library Services, St. George's Independent School (Memphis).

Vice President/President Elect:  Patricia Van Zandt, Dean of Libraries, East Tennessee State University
Treasurer:  Sue Maszaros, Unit Head for Library Systems and Collections Management, Belmont University

Academic library representative from West TN:  Dr. Sylverna Ford, Dean of Libraries, University of Memphis

Academic library representative from Middle TN:  Mary Ellen Sloane, User Services Librarian, Middle Tennessee State University

Public library representative from West TN:  Dinah Harris, Director, Jackson-Madison County Library

School library representative from West TN:  Sara Casey, Librarian, St. Agnes Academy–St. Dominic School, Memphis

Special library representative:  Ashley Bowers, Assistant State Librarian, Tennessee State Library and Archives

Special library representative:  Jan Haley, Library and Information Services Coordinator, St. Thomas Health, Nashville


We would like to thank President Joe Weber, Director of Library Services at Austin Peay State University, and other Board members who served from January 2014 to December 2015 (and at points in between), completing Tenn-Share's Strategic Plan, crafting a new plan for 2015-2018 and participating in committee work.  Joe will stay on the Board as Past-President for the next two years. 

Past President:  Melissa Brenneman, Reference Technology Librarian, Knox County Public Library

Academic library representative:  Cody Behles, former Emerging Technologies Librarian, University of Memphis

Public library representative:  Michele Barnes, Director, Obion County Public Library

School library representative:  Jeanine Akers, Assistant Director of Libraries, St. Mary Episcopal School

Special library representative:  Nathan Collins, Digital Resources/Reference Librarian, Belmont University College of Law

Special library representative:  Leslie Holland, Manager of Library Services, Southern College of Optometry Library

The next Board meeting is Monday, February 29th, 2016, at the Martin Center, Metro Nashville Public Schools, 2400 Fairfax Ave, Nashville, TN 37212. All are welcome to attend.

Call for Tenn-Share Board Nominees

Tenn-Share is looking for a few good officers and board members. Board and officer terms are two years. The Vice President will serve on the Executive Committee for a total of six years: two years as VP, then two years as President, then two years as Past President. Make a nomination by October 30.


Tenn-Share Trial of AtoZ databases

Staff at Tenn-Share member libraries are invited to a trial use of AtoZdatabases : Search Jobs, Businesses or Mailing Lists from now through November 7. Try it out and let us know what you think.

Link to Trial use of AtoZdatabases : Search Jobs, Businesses or Mailing Lists