Tenn-Share helps Tennessee libraries deliver efficient, effective library services through group purchasing power and innovative resource sharing projects. [more...]

Tenn-Share News

2014 Tennessee Library Resource Sharing Award nominations now open

The Tennessee Library Resource Sharing Award is presented annually by Tenn-Share to any person, institution or organization in Tennessee that has done outstanding work in promoting resource sharing within and among Tennessee libraries and other information agencies.

The recipient(s) will be recognized based on efforts to make available shared library and/or information resources that benefit the organizations involved and the patrons they serve, and that would not be available to them without cooperative efforts.

Nominations will be accepted until Friday, August 29, 2014. The award will be presented at the Tenn-Share Fall Conference this year.

Registration now open for 2014 DataFest and Fall Conference

Tenn-Share’s 2014 DataFest, School Library Collection Fair and Fall Conference will be held at Nashville Public Library on September 25th and 26th. Registration is now open at http://www.tenn-share.org/2014registration

DataFest and School Library Collection Fair are free, but please register so that we will have an accurate count.

Fall Conference is $30 for staff at Tenn-Share member libraries.

Vendors who have confirmed are listed. Stay tuned... more information is coming soon.

Share the excitement on Facebook and Twitter!

Please help us spread the word. Share with your friends, followers and colleagues. Let’s make these the best Tenn-Share events yet! After all, we're celebrating 10 years of DataFest, Fall Conference is always enlightening, and the School Library Collection Fair vendors are always eager to see you.

See you in September.


Database Survey Results Now Available

Tenn-Share thanks everyone who responded to the Biennial Database Survey. The survey captured the databases and services that Tennessee libraries subscribe to and use. The results are posted on the Tenn-Share Electronic Resources Committee webpage (http://www.tenn-share.org/committees/tserc). The spreadsheets are restricted for members only. The data are presented in five sets.

  • General Results (no cost information)
  • University of Tennessee/Tennessee Board of Regents (UT/TBR) Library Data
  • Academic (non-UT/TBR) Library Data
  • School Library Data
  • Public Library Data

Contact Tenn-Share if you have questions or concerns.


Tenn-Share Call for Proposals for 2014 DataFest and Fall Conference Programs

Tenn-Share is celebrating 10 years of DataFest and is excited about the opportunities that are shared at Fall Conference, to be held at the Nashville Public Library on September 25th and 26th.  

There are 25-minute slots at DataFest for presentations by library staff who want to share how they are using specific tools to encourage resource sharing. Since this is the 10 year anniversary, presentations about the history of resource-sharing and Tenn-Share are also welcome.  Please submit your ideas!

Fall Conference sessions are 50 minutes and will feature presentations, panels and workshops to share information about programs, services, resources, or strategies employed to meet the needs of a your population. Tenn-Share is seeking proposals that will be informative and relevant, based on theory, research, and practice; encourage opportunities for learner engagement; and/or demonstrate application to the work of participants.  E-resource trends, big questions, selection, use, evaluation and promotion are all appropriate for Fall Conference presentations.

In addition, we are looking for 10 minute (or less) sessions that we are calling 10 for Tenn, which will be short talks about an experience, passion or best practice that can teach, entertain and inspire your colleagues. You can use no more than one slide per minute you're presenting, i.e., if you're presenting for 7 minutes, you would have no more than 7 slides. 

If you can show how your staff and library deliver best practices using approaches for different types of users based on or supported by research, have cutting edge ideas, or want to stimulate and provoke discussion related to resource-sharing or e-resources, we want to hear from you!  We invite entries from all library types, departmental roles and levels of staff.

Submit your proposal here by August 15:


Proposals will be reviewed and presenters will be notified by August 29. Contact Tenn-Share if you have questions.

Tenn-Share welcomes newly-appointed mid-term Board members

The Tenn-Share Board of Directors approved the nominations of three librarians to fill vacant positions:

  • Nathan Collins, Belmont University College of Law (special library representative)
  • Michele Barnes, Obion County Public Library (public library representative)
  • Elizabeth Kozlowski, White House Inn Library (public library representative)

We look forward to their ideas and input through December 2015. To contact them if you have comments, suggestions or concerns about Tenn-Share, please submit to the Contact Us form.

Syndicate content